1666

1666

1666 was a watershed year for England. The outbreak of the Great Plague, the eruption of the second Dutch War and the Great Fire of London all struck the country in rapid succession and with devastating repercussions. Shedding light on these dramatic events, historian Rebecca Rideal reveals an unprecedented period of terror and triumph. Based on original archival research and drawing on little-known sources, 1666: Plague, War and Hellfire takes readers on a thrilling journey through a crucial turning point in English history, as seen through the eyes of an extraordinary cast of historical characters. While the central events of this significant year were ones of devastation and defeat, 1666 also offers a glimpse of the incredible scientific and artistic progress being made at that time, from Isaac Newton's discovery of gravity to Robert Hooke's microscopic wonders. It was in this year that John Milton completed Paradise Lost, Frances Stewart posed for the now-iconic image of Britannia, and a young architect named Christopher Wren proposed a plan for a new London - a stone phoenix to rise from the charred ashes of the old city. With flair and style, 1666 shows a city and a country on the cusp of modernity, and a series of events that forever altered the course of history.


Author
Publisher Hachette UK
Release Date
ISBN 1473623553
Pages 304 pages
Rating 4/5 (52 users)
Read More

More Books:

1666
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Rebecca Rideal
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-25 - Publisher: Hachette UK

1666 was a watershed year for England. The outbreak of the Great Plague, the eruption of the second Dutch War and the Great Fire of London all struck the countr
London, Londoners and the Great Fire of 1666
Language: en
Pages: 172
Authors: Jacob F. Field
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-08-07 - Publisher: Routledge

The Great Fire of 1666 was one of the greatest catastrophes to befall London in its long history. While its impact on London and its built environment has been
The Elite
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Ranulph Fiennes
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-10-17 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

"Riveting stuff. Through the prism of his experience of the military elite, Fiennes presents a dazzling history of the world's best fighting units to amaze and
London and the Seventeenth Century
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Margarette Lincoln
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-23 - Publisher: Yale University Press

The first comprehensive history of seventeenth-century London, told through the lives of those who experienced itThe Gunpowder Plot, the Civil Wars, Charles Iâ€
A Plague on Mr Pepys
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Deborah Swift
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-07-05 - Publisher: Accent Press Ltd

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Elizabeth Chadwick, Deborah Swift brings a unique period in history to vivid, fascinating li
Symon Patrick (1626-1707) and His Contribution to the Post-1660 Restored Church of England
Language: en
Pages: 309
Authors: Nicholas Fisher
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-16 - Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

History has not been kind to Symon Patrick. His fifty years of ministry spanned the closing years of Cromwell’s rule and the start of Queen Anne’s reign, an
Inheritance: The tragedy of Mary Davies
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Leo Hollis
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-06 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

‘Brilliant’ Financial Times ‘Hollis expertly weaves together the human tragedy and high politics behind the explosion of one of the world’s greatest cit
MOMENT IN TIME
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Peter Sargent
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-30 - Publisher: eBook Partnership

It only takes a moment to change the world. Our past is littered with these moments; from the grandest in the land - a Queen claiming her crown at a Suffolk cas
Martin Luther and His Legacy: A Perspective on 500 Years of Reformation
Language: en
Pages: 234
Authors: Roy Long
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-05 - Publisher: Lulu.com

Bloody London
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: David Fathers
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-02 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

An entertaining, revealing and beautifully illustrated walking guide to London's horrific history, Bloody London features walks that take in everything from Jac